#mymentalhealthmatters

“When I was young, my sister and I used to be so close. Although she’s 5 years older, she was my best friend. I knew that I could count on her for anything. That was until I turned 20 and suddenly everything changed. She began criticizing every little decision I made. Up To now, I stiffen whenever she’s near me.  I can’t relax or be myself and when I’m at her place, I can’t wait to leave. Can you help?” Jane

Jane’s story is one that many of us are living. We have family members who make us overly anxious. Whether it’s a cousin who everyone says is better than you or a brother who teases you although you say it’s not funny.

As for me, I’ve grown up with four siblings, and I know that the occasional teasing is necessary. However, there’s a fine line between excessive teasing and abuse.

Research reveals that children who were physically or verbally abused by siblings grow up to be more anxious than others.

Good morning Millenial News readers. As we celebrate Mental Health Awareness, we’ll discuss how family members can trigger anxiety.

5 Signs That Prove a Loved One Is an Anxiety Trigger

  • You freeze when you’re in their presence.
  • They make you feel worthless and useless.
  • Your body tenses when they’re around you.
  • You feel frightened it’s just the two of you in the same room.
  • You can’t relax when around them.

Bonus: You’re thinking of them as you read this.

What To Do if a Family Member Triggers Your Anxiety

According to psychiatrist Rachel Davis, we tend to be most anxious around important people.

So it’s understandable that family members can cause anxiety. They’re some of the most important aspects of our existence.

  1. Identify the Cause of the Trigger.

This is the beginning of solving the problem. Once you identify why certain family members trigger your anxiety, you’ll be in a position to control it better.

The trigger may be because they belittle and compare you to others. It might also be because they criticize every little thing you do, or they physically abuse you in the name of fun.

  1. Communicate Your Feelings.

The next step is to talk to them. I know this might be hard, especially if it’s a parent, but it’s high time you stand up for yourself.

Ask them to stop with the comparison and the rude sneers that make you feel small.

  1. Try Family Counseling.

I’ll be honest, there will only be two outcomes after talking to them. They’ll either dismiss your feelings or listen and be willing to do better by you.

If they choose to take it positively, that’s when you can see a family counselor. They’ll help you fix the relationship between you and the family member.

  1. Know That It’s Okay To Walk Away.

Just like a doctor has to amputate a sickly body part to prevent the disease from spreading, you have to let them go. If you continue communicating and letting them in, they’ll only hurt you more and make you a nervous wreck.

I know it’s not as easy as it sounds, but the other side is much more peaceful. No one on this earth is worth losing sleep over or making you feel like you’re not enough. No matter if it’s a parent or a sibling.

At the end of the day, your peace of mind is more important than even a blood relationship. You have to do what’s best for your mental health even if it means letting them go. All the best.

#mymentalhealthmatters

#mentalhealthawarenessmonth

#themillenialnews

Millie ❤❤❤