For the longest time I have always felt that joking around should have boundaries. Sometimes I took it as far as not having friends who joke too much, don’t get me wrong I love a good laugh as much as the next guy but I feel it’s so easy for a joke to turn into an offense and boy was I right. 

Today I am writing to you because of  a joke that went sour. I mean it would be a crime if I did not write on this after all the commotion that has been stirred up. Just in case you don’t know what I am talking about, let me give you context.

So according to CNN;

Chris Rock made a joke about Jada Pinkett Smith’s shaved head, which did not appear to go over well with her husband Will Smith.While presenting the award for best documentary, Rock joked, “Jada I love you, ‘G.I. Jane 2,’ can’t wait to see it.” The camera cut to Pinkett Smith, who rolled her eyes as she sat next to Smith. “That was a nice one,” Rock said, appearing to respond to the joke not going over well. Pinkett Smith has been open about her struggle with alopecia, an autoimmune disorder that leads to hair loss.

Rock then said, “Oh uh,” and laughed as Smith walked toward him on stage and slapped Rock on the face. According to CNN reporter Stephanie Elam, who is in the audience, she could hear Rock getting hit. Smith said twice during the incident, according to Elam, “Keep my wife’s name out of your f***ing mouth!” Rock responded: “Oh, wow.” For viewers at home, censors muted the verbal part of the exchange between Rock and Smith.

The theater went silent and Rock said, “That was the greatest night in the history of television.”

Rock declined to press charges, according to the LAPD. CNN has reached out to Smith’s publicist for comment. Sean “Diddy” Combs took to the stage moments later and told Smith and Rock that they would settle things “like family” later.

Roughly 40 minutes after the incident, Smith returned to the stage to accept the Oscar for best actor and apologized to the Academy and his fellow nominees for the incident, but did not mention Rock by name.He tearfully accepted the award for his role as Richard Williams, the father of Venus and Serena Williams, in the film “King Richard.” Smith said Williams “was a fierce defender of his family.”

‘CODA’ wins the Oscar in a streaming breakthrough, but Will Smith steals the show

Smith said, “I know to do what we do, you gotta be able to take abuse and have people talk to people about you. In this business, you gotta have people disrespecting you. And you gotta smile and pretend that’s ok.”

Smith also talked about being a “protector” and thanked the tennis legends and their family.

Smith shared that prior to his win, fellow nominee Denzel Washington shared some wisdom with him: “At your highest moment be careful, that’s when the devil comes for you.”

Smith ended saying that he hopes the Academy welcomes him back.

After the incident, the Academy tweeted a short statement stating they do not “condone violence of any form.”

“Tonight we are delighted to celebrate our 94th Academy Awards winners, who deserve this moment of recognition from their peers and movie lovers around the world,” the statement read.

I’ve also attached  a link to the video of the whole thing so that you can put some graphics in your imagination.

Now let’s talk about this. How far is too far when making  a joke even if your job is to do it professionally? What morals and ethical values guide you during conversation or presentation? I know some jokes for major award shows like the Academy Awards get scripted, even if something is scripted do you as the host/presenter ever raise your voice when you don’t agree with a joke? So many things to consider right?

In the interest of not sounding like I support violence, let me just put it out there that I do not support Will Smith resorting to violence – and maybe this might actually be an indicator of someone  struggling with anger management or just not at the right place mentally and emotionally. But at the same time I do not support Chris Rock’s insensitive joke, many people battle so many diseases privately and Jada has been very open about hers. Chris Rock should have known better, it’s disgusting to make fun of sick people. Whether they are okay with it or not, my advice would be to just refrain from such jokes.

Anyway mine was just to inform not to pass a verdict, but I pray that this serves as a lesson to us all. And of course this is one of the most memorable Oscar Awards ceremonies recorded, and Lupita Nyong’o was right at the frontline, witnessing it all. I bet she had a moment too!

Noanne ❤❤❤