Did you know that it is only in Africa where black hair is not a major issue or threat to the system? What you do not know is that around the world black hair is actually a big deal, in fact, it is a political statement. Beautiful Black ladies in Africa spend so much time and money on beauty which brings out the sassiness in being black. 

Let’s talk about hair, the natural kinky hard hair, does that sound familiar? Let me ask why is it that from January to December we African ladies are on weaves, wigs, plaited hair, and all the amazing styles we have going on but we forget to wear our natural selves and our natural hair. 

Why is it always when we take a break from the Asian/Indian hairs, crochets, box braids, cornrows we run to the dryer, and to get blow drys? Have we forgotten how bold a statement our hairs are, the kinkiness, the roughness, and how the edges tangle? Personally, I love how my hair shrinks, and the fact that it was never meant to fall back but stands instead which gives me the confidence to stand out.

As I was writing this, my sister asked me have you ever tried to google beautiful hair? I had never thought of that so quickly I dashed to my google search. I was surprised and discouraged that Black African hair does not qualify for the list of beautiful hairs.

She went on and asked me to search on unkempt hair. Honestly, I am at a loss for words, 90% of the photos were related to Black African hair. I took it upon myself to search, “describe Black African hair” the results were of adjectives such as wooly, kinky, nappy, or spiraled. 

I wonder who lied to us that good African hair is when it is straightened and made to fall on your back, this is such a lame ideology because contrary to what the world may say, it is time for us to uphold our Black heritage, kinky, tangled, tousled spikes natural hair is what makes us queens. Fix your crown and wear your natural hair in pride.

African Americans have set the pace where steadily they are accepting natural hair. Why don’t we also embrace it? Let us be the change we all need, it takes more than one person for massive changes to happen.

All this weighs heavily on my chest as I sit and ponder on what we have been reduced to, yes the world is dynamic, and yes our taste and preferences change too but honestly who said that finely kinked, magnificently thick, untidy but beautiful, short but lustrous, slightly knotted, distinctive natural black hair is not presentable? Just think about that for a second. 

For this reason, this year I decided to embrace my African roots and took to a natural hair lifestyle.One of the secrets that has helped me in maintaining my natural look is rinsing my hair with rice water, this  increases the mass volume of hair. I have also reduced the heating of  my hair via driers and blow drys, after my normal wash I  simply busk in the sun and let it dry naturally. This has helped strengthen my hair and has reduced the breakage. Yes, the edges are rough but I have seen tremendous improvement on my hair. I challenge you to embrace your natural hair look today too. 

MaryMwas ❤❤❤